Yum Yum!

Last night I made a yummy stir fry for dinner with these beautiful vegetables you see above!  I don’t really write recipes or even have any recipes memorized per-say, I just kinda do a lil’ of this a lil’ of that and hopefully it’ll be good.  So anyway, I’m going to try my best and write out for you my own stir fry “recipe”.  Go ahead and give it a whirl but don’t be afraid to do your own thing.  Cooking for me is about experimentation, having fun, and reaping the benefits of a delicious home cooked meal.

I start with these vegetables and you can add or take away to your liking:

1 good sized red pepper

2 smallish heads (or 1 good sized head) of broccoli

1 hefty carrot

3 cloves of garlic

1 piece of ginger the size of your thumb ( I like ginger)

2 good handfuls of snowpeas

While you’re chopping these all up, bring a pot of water to a boil.  I like to put my stir fry over a bed of rice noodles but you can use rice if you prefer.  The key to the stir fry is to have everything ready to go and to chop most things to be about the right size so they cook pretty evenly and at the same pace.  Once the water comes to a boil add the rice noodles and take it off the heat and let it sit for 8-10 minutes.  While this is  happening put about a tablespoon of sesame oil in your wok and put it on med/low heat and start sauteeing your garlic and ginger.  Once those start to sizzle a little add your red pepper, carrot, and broccoli and keep ’em moving so they don’t stick.  Add some soy sauce and chinese five spice to the mix.  A couple tablespoons of soy sauce and a teaspoon of five spice should do ya!  Then add your noodles to the wok and keep it moving some more then add your snowpeas until they’re warmed through but still crispy.  I also like to sprinkle in some peanuts for crunch and more yums.  I don’t have any after pictures…..I’m sorry, my husband and I kinda sorta devoured it VERY shortly after I made this, but you’ve seen a stir fry before.  So anyway, that’s my method, what are some ways you like to make stir fries?

This entry was posted in Home, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

