Doily Dying

I was experimenting with dying paper doilies this weekend and I love the results!  The above doily is dyed using coffee.  I soaked the doily in about 1/4 cup of strong coffee for about 10 minutes.  I removed it very slowly and carefully and left it to dry on a old dish rag.

I used regular food coloring for these doilies.  You need a lot of dye!  I filled a shallow dish with just enough water to cover the doily.  Then I added a good amount of whatever color I wanted.  Stir around and let the doily sit for 10-15 seconds and remove and let dry on a towel.  You can leave the doily in longer depending on how strong/dark you want your colors.  I wanted a pastel palette and 10-15 seconds worked well!  I’m already dreaming of the possibilities for other ways to dye doilies using food/household items-what are some of your ideas?

This entry was posted in Bits n Pieces, Crafts, Crafty Tutorials, DIY, Home, Inspiration, Supplies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doily Dying

  1. Sweetthing says:

    Great job!

  2. Oh, nice. I’m seeing dyed paper doily garlands. Greeting cards with the doilies sewn on. A bouquet of paper roses. Decoupaged onto old shabby furniture like a dresser, bookshelf or desk. Maybe tacked onto a bulletin board. Etc., etc., etc.

  3. Pingback: Sewn Paper Doily Garland Tutorial | The Urban Pasture

  4. Great idea!!!! I’m going to try this idea today with my food coloring : ) Thank you so much for sharing this tutorial! If mine turn out okay, I’ll definitely take pictures and let you know how it goes. Yay, I’m excited to give this a try and see what colors I can make!

Leave a Reply

