Spicy Peanut Slaw

At the co-op where I used to work, they had a delicious spicy asian peanut slaw. Since moving to Chicago, I have been craving this dish. It’s simple and fast so I don’t know why I didn’t get around to making it until now. All of these amounts are approximate, as I don’t measure so much as just dash in, you really just need to stop and taste as you go.

For the dressing:

6 Tbsp rice wine vinegar (I ran out at the 3 tbsp mark so I subbed apple cider vinegar)

5 Tbsp oil (I did a combo of olive and peanut)

6 Tbsp peanut butter, crunchy for a little bite

2 Tbsp soy sauce

2 cloves of finely minced garlic

1 tsp of powdered ginger, if you don’t have fresh as I didn’t. Fresh is best!

1 Tbsp of sriracha

Whisk all of these ingredients together in the bottom of a large bowl. Again, give a little taste once in a while to see if you want a little more of this or a little move of that!

I had a head of napa cabbage and some carrots on hand so I shredded the cabbage and julienned some carrots. Red pepper, cucumber, and other cabbages would be delicious in this slaw as well.

Add your veggies to the large bowl and toss to coat. If you prefer your salad to be crunchier, dress your veggies just before you eat them and reserve the sauce separately. Adding the sauce to all the veggies at once will wilt them slightly and make it more like a slaw than a salad. This is delicious on it’s own but would be a great side dish to any asian meal. Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Food, In The Kitchen, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spicy Peanut Slaw

  1. Pingback: Maria’s Spicy Peanut Slaw « Speckless Blog

Leave a Reply

