Homemade Veggie Stock

that ugly guy on the far left is celery root, tasty!

It is ridiculously hard to believe that I have never made my own veggie stock before. I think it’s because I haven’t always been the best at planning things out ahead of time so when I want to make soup I have to grab some cubes from the store. Not this time!  The ease of it is unbelievable and I can’t imagine going back. The beauty of homemade veggie stock, too, is that you can throw in whatever vegetables you happen to have on hand at the time. The typical “base” calls for onion, celery and carrot. In addition to these I added some garlic and fennel. I love the taste of fennel in my soups. It gives a spicy/licorice quality.

I didn’t really measure my spices, just a little of this little of that. You want to taste your stock after its reduced to see if it needs more seasoning. I ended up adding more peppercorns.

Somehow, I did not have bay leaf in my spice drawer so my spices consisted of sea salt, black peppercorns, rosemary and parsley. These served me well, but I also wish I had some thyme to throw in.

throw in your celery and carrot leaves too!

full up and ready to get boilin’

You just want a rough chop on all of your veggies. I started them out in a pot with some olive oil and cooked them up a bit. Then I added the spices and then topped it off with water. Bring the veggie/water mix to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for about an hour. If the stock isn’t concentrated enough, you can leave off the lid and continue simmering for 20 minutes or so to reduce. Your house will smell delicious. Like Thanksgiving.

the veggies are nice and cooked down and you can see along the inside rim of the pot where the stock reduced

Strain your stock into a bowl. You could also strain through a cheese cloth to squeeze out all of the juices from the veggies, but regular straining will do just fine.

even though the texture of these veggies was mushy, they tasted delicious. i ate all of the carrots……and some of the onion and celery.

This can be kept in your refrigerator for 3-5 days or two months in the freezer. Freezing the stock in an ice cube tray makes portioning easy for soups or to flavor veggies and beans.

This entry was posted in Food, Home, In The Garden, In The Kitchen, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Veggie Stock

  1. “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” -Oscar Wilde

  2. What exactly do you mean by ‘reduced’?

Leave a Reply

