Trying out a light box

I have always been partial to using natural light but I’m writing an article on using natural light vs. using a light box (will link to article when it’s posted) and I needed to get some firsthand experience.  I found this post on making a light box for $10.  But it cost me nothing!  All you need is a box, tracing paper, tape, a box cutter, and a piece of poster board (or something similar, I used the back of a poster)  Here is my process, all the instructions are in the link!

All in all, building and using the light box was a lot simpler than I thought it would be.  It always seemed more technical I guess (I don’t really know why!)  You should try building yourself one, it is super easy and I do like the result!

This entry was posted in Bits n Pieces, Crafty Tutorials, Jewelry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trying out a light box

  1. movitabeaucoup says:

    Nicely done. I’ve seen some other tutorials that look harder than this…

  2. Sweetthing says:

    Great idea, I’ll use it definitely! ^__^

  3. Exactly what I was looking for, thanks! What do you use as a light source?

    • I like to use natural light bulbs 2 of them on either side of the box. I also used lamps with bendable necks so that I could direct the light where I wanted it go to. If you’re photographing your products during the day you can get away with using one light bulb! So glad this helped!

  4. malia says:

    genius! i needed this and now i can make it (after a quick trip to the recycling bin) thanks you!

  5. Pingback: Lightbox made from recycled materials | Reviving Remnants

Leave a comment